Chapter News

Rasmussen Claims First MGA Victory

BRIDGEVILLE, Del. – In one of the closest events in chapter history, Jason Rasmussen curled in a 15-foot putt for birdie on the 18th hole to win the Kent Island chapter’s The MGA by one shot at Heritage Shores.

The top seven players were separated by just three shots.

     On the 475-yard par 5 finishing hole, Rasmussen was just short and right of the green in two, with a tricky angle over a bunker to the hole cut just three paces onto the front of the green. His chip was played safely past the hole and the birdie putt finished off Rasmussen’s 85 and his first Mediocre Golf Association victory. His net 93, following eight penalty strokes, was one shot clear of second-place finished Josh Schreiner, who shot a net 94 (93 gross).

     Rasmussen walked out with nearly all the hardware, claiming the low gross honor to go with The MGA medal for the victory and earning the long drive on the 17th hole.

     Schreiner took the meltdown award as the only player in the field with to shoot a higher score on the back nine, just a three-shot increase. Doug Ogburn earned the Key to the Red Tee for the next event.

     Jeff Hawkins shot a 95, joined in the tie for third with Tim Brennan (86 gross). A three-way tie in fifth place saw Stephen Pokora (90 gross), Tim Shannon and Brandon Hare each post 96.

     The mediocrity of the chapter was on full display on the par-3 6th hole, playing as the closest-to-the-pin hole. No player was able to hit the putting surface, leading to a carry over in the prize to the next event.

     With his $0.93 pay day, Rasmussen moved up to a tie for fourth on the chapter money list. Pokora, currently with $1.65, maintains a one-cent lead on Shannon atop the chapter money list.

     The chapter continues major season on June 10, traveling to Hog Neck Golf Course for the Freedom and Unity Open.

Event Results

1.Jason Rasmussen93$0.93
2.Josh Schreiner94$0.62
3.Jeff Hawkins95$0.49
3.Tim Brennan95$0.49
5.Brandon Hare96$0.36
5.Stephen Pokora96$0.36
5.Tim Shannon96$0.36
8.Mike Conklin100$0.26
9.Justin Bateman104$0.21
10.Steve Bresnahan109$0.15
11.Doug Ogburn115$0.10

« Back to News