Chapter News

Brennan, Conklin Conquer Rebel Beach Am-Am

QUEENSTOWN, MD---Steady rain and winds subsided after just a few holes of the Kent Island MGA’s Rebel Beach Am-Am as 12 golfers slogged their way through 18 holes around a drenched River Course at Queenstown Harbor Saturday, March 25.

Tim Brennan and Mike Conklin were able to come out on top in the competition, claiming the two-headed trophies, with a team score of 194, some 15 shots clear of the tandem of Jeff Hawkins and Brandon Hare, who came in with a score of 209.

Heavy rains prior to the round saw wet conditions and standing water throughout, leading to solid contact tee to green as a must. The impeccable drainage of the Queenstown Harbor, kept the greens playable throughout the day.

Conklin and Brennan finished their rounds strong, avoiding the big numbers on their final three holes to close out the victory. Brennan took the individual title and low gross, firing an 11-over par 83, while taking nine penalty strokes for a net 92 and a payday of $0.84 to take the chapter’s early money lead. His finish was two shots clear of Stephen Pokora’s 94 net total following his matching nines of 44-44 for a gross score of 88.

Josh Schreiner posted a net 97 (gross 96) to take third.

Stephen Kozlik earned the long drive of the day on the par-5 fifth hole, while Hare earned closest to the pin on the 125-yard 13th hole, stuffing a shot to four feet.

Hare also earned Most Mediocre, placing seventh with a score of 103. Danny Cascio took the biggest meltdown award with nines of 50 and 71, and with his 121 also earns the Key to the Red Tee for the next event.

The Kent Island season continues on Saturday, April 22 for the season’s first major – The Bastards – when the medios take on River Marsh Golf Club in Cambridge, MD in a battle for the blue jacket.

To learn more about the Mediocre Golf Association and its Kent Island Chapter, visit the MGA website at

Event Results

1.Tim Brennan92$0.84
2.Stephen Pokora94$0.56
3.Josh Schreiner97$0.47
4.Jason Rasmussen101$0.40
4.Stephen Kozlik101$0.40
6.Mike Conklin102$0.33
7.Brandon Hare103$0.28
8.Jeff Hawkins107$0.23
9.Tim Shannon114$0.19
10.Vinnie Knoepfel115$0.14
11.Doug Ogburn116$0.09
12.Danny Cascio121$0.05